Downtown Economic Stimulus Authority


Meetings are held as needed, at such times as the authority determines necessary to fulfilled required duties.


The mayor and twelve persons on this authority are comprised as follows:

  • One community development corporation representative (if one exists in the city)
  • One school district representative
  • One African-American business owner in the city
  • Six city-appointed standing members of the Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Commission
  • Three at-large members

The mayor shall serve as co-chair of the authority. Those members appointed by the mayor shall be appointed with consent of the City Council. Six of the members shall serve three-year terms; the six appointed standing members of the TIF Commission shall serve the same terms as established for members of the TIF Commission.

  • Jeff Penland
    Term expires on August 15, 2022
  • Philip Vaughn
    Term expires on August 15, 2021
  • Megan Carroll
    Term expires on January 7, 2016
  • Mayor Bill McMurray
    Term - Length of office
  • Scottie K. Burnham, Jr.
    Term expires on August 15, 2020
  • Michael S. Montgomery
    Term expires on July 6, 2018
  • Brandon Tritten
    Term expires on August 15, 2021
  • John Reese
    Term expires on August 15, 2020
  • Solon Haynes
    Term expires on August 4, 2017
  • Nakesia (Kesia) Smith
    Term expires on September 6, 2019
  • Byron Myers, Sr.
    Term expires on August 15, 2022
  • Michael D. Tabor
    Term expires on October 11, 2019
  • Vacancy
    Term expires on June 22, 2018